On the 11th day of the 11th month at the 11th hour ,WE WILL REMEMBER!


Laying down of arms , Armistice day became an annual observation  signaling the end of World War I on November 11, 1918. 

On this day, I remember my father,  and all of my uncles and great uncles who proudly served their country during the both WWII.

Photo of my great Uncle Kayo :

Uncle Kayo in uniform the army

My mom tells me today, that my Great” Uncle Kayo was left for dead over in Germany; My great Grammy got a notice that he was killed in action, but he had had crawled his way to the American lines-he survived!!” Mom  just remembered that fact.

Great Uncle Butch (Charles), served in the South Pacific in the army.  Great Uncle Thomas was sent to a copper mine? by the military to work there.

I don’t have photos of my father to share here.  An 8 x 10 framed photo of my dad in Navy uniform sits atop his dresser.

The  Armistice became an annual observation on both side of the Atlantic in the 1920’s , only back then they called it “Remembrance Day” back in England and Canada.   The United States called Armistice day or Victory day, and people made the “V” sign with their fingers.   I fondly remember my father showing me the “V” sign, saying “V” is for Victory”.

November 11 did not become a legal Federal holiday until 1938.

President Dwight Eisenhower on October8, 1954 signed a bill that Armistice day would thereafter be commemorated as Veterans day.

In some places, the 11th day of the 11th month is celebrated with a moment of silence at the 11th hour  (11:00am ) , the hour at which hostilities ended and the armistice was signed.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SavannahGranny
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 05:09:42

    Beautiful. So nice to learn about the history of our family members, especially when they are true heros. Thanks for sending me the link. Ginger

    Like

    Reply

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

