Happy St. Paddy’s day-March 17, 2011


Green eggs and.....

A top o’ The Morning to You!

I remember my school days, that on the morning of March 17, my mother would dress in the green courdoy jumber that she had hand-sewn for the two of us, we are twins, and then tell us to pin on the Irish leprechan; he was whimsical and carefree looking, and I’ll bet if i check in my childhood jewelry box , I’ll find him there.

Another little note.  My sweetie gets up earlier than I.  As I sleepily opened my eyes, I said, “what color are you wearing?”, Brown, he said.  Once he’s gone down the stairs for breakfast, I “m more awake, And I say, it’s St. Patrick’s day, what about wearing green.   “I forgot” he says,  but he spends an extra two minutes to  come back upstairs and  change to green khaki slacks and green turtleneck, and socks to match.

An Irish Blessing!

“May you have warm words on a cold evening,

A full moon on a dark night,

And the road downhill all the way to your door.

An Irish recipe  for Boxtys

Ingredients:

1 pound potatoes, peeled and shredded,

3 eggs, beaten well

4 cups milk

1 cup sour cream

1 cup green onion, chopped

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground white pepper (oops almost wrote cinnamon) LOL)

3 cups all purpose flour

Directions:

Rinse potatoes in cold water after shredding.  Drain well.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Mix Well.  Mixture should be of a consistency somewhat thicker than regular pancake batter.

Put about a teaspoon of butter in bottom of 9-inch, non stick skillet.   When butter is melted, ladle ( or using  a measuring cup) in 4 ounces of mixture.

Cook for 2 to 3 minutes on one side.  Flip pancake and cook for another 2 or 3 minutes.

Fillings:

Boxtys can be served plain or filled with almost anything including roasted or sauteed vegetables, salmon or shrimp sauteed in butter and garlic, or grilled chicken seasoned with sage, corned beef and cabbage, fried bacon or ham and cheese.

Place about 3 tablespoons of filling on top of the pancake, fold it over like an omelet and let it sit for a few minutes.  If using cheese in the filling, recommend returning the boxty to the heated pan for a FEW MINUTES TO MELT THE CHEESE.

YIELD: 12.

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

