Thanksgiving Greetings


The Pilgrims came to America not to accumulate riches but to worship God, and the greatest wealth they left unborn generations was their heroic example of sacrifice that their souls might be free.
~ Harry Moyle Tippett

Here are a few quotes that I like with a theme of Thanksgiving.

“Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our thanksgiving.”
~ W. T. Purkiser

Bible Quotes:


In every thing give thanks: for this is the will
of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

I Thessalonians 5:18

Traditionally, Thanksgiving is a huge dinner celebrated by extended family; although for me it is not shared by all of our extended family.  I have my mother and sister that I will visit.   Her sisters and brother have their own families and children to share it with.

When my grandparents were alive, they would visit  the three daughters’ homes and their grandchildren  on Thankgsgiving day ; stopping at our house last because they lived in the same town.  

We will have turkey with stuffing and sweet potatoes, and some other sides.  There are Thanksgiving decorations that are displayed in the living room each year; the crocheted pilgrim lady and pilgrim man that my mom bought from a lady at her work many years ago.   The cornucopia.   I will go there early to help with the preparations and see that the turkey doesn’t overcook .  The ham got overcooked at Easter , in part because my mother fell asleep while resting in the living room  while  I was at my In-laws’ place.   Dessert is planned as well, pumpkin or apple pie.    My husband, parents and siblings  arrange for their buffet dinner  at 1200 noon and it is too much for me to travel to both places in the same day like I did previous years being that I have to work the next day.  My husband will meet up with me later in the day to spend some time with me , and  to have his second dessert.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 14:01:09

    I just wanted to stop by and thank you for visiting me and reading about my trip to Michigan. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    Sue

    Like

    Reply

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

