Happy Columbus Day


 

Me making etching of my grandfather's name at Ellis Island

Me making etching of my grandfather's name at Ellis Island

There are

a few things  that I always remember about Columbus Day  and one is that is was my maternal grandfather’s birthday.  My grandfather was born in Italy in the small town of Poggio Cinolfo about 40 miles from Rome.   He immigrated to the USA with his mother at the age of 6 coming through Ellis Island.

My husband and I recently went to visit Ellis Island again.  I had made an etching of my grandfather’s name a long time ago in the early 90’s and decided to make a new one.

 I thank my cousin Donna for having his name inscribed on the Ellis Island wall when it was being built.

My maternal grandfather and I playing a board game after dinner as a teen.

My maternal grandfather and I playing a board game after dinner as a teen.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. gallerykuma
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 17:36:05

    that is a nice picture looks like you are having fun with that board game. had been to maryland for the weekend to celebrate Diwali with cousins. had gr8 time playing cards & betting with monoply paper money. I bet these group games are anytime better, more fun than kids playing on computers, x-box, ipods

    Like

    Reply

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

