By the Boab Tree-“Sing and I will hear you…


BY THE BOAB TREE – LYRICS:

Sing and I will hear you
No matter where you are
A song to light the darkest night
And guide me from afar

And I will never be alone
Now I know you’re somewhere
You’re everywhere to me
You’re the colour in the sky
A reason to believe
And when the rain falls down
You tell a story
And I will hear you
Always near you
By the boab tree

Lay your arms around me
Like the falling rain
Let the feeling drown me
And life begins again

And I will never be afraid
Now I know you’re somewhere
You’re everywhere to me
The warming of the sun upon
The earth beneath my feet
And when the rain falls down
You tell a story
And I will hear you
Always near you
By the boab tree

Oh you are somewhere
You’re everywhere to me
You’re the colour in the sky
And you’re the earth beneath my feet
And when the rain falls down
You tell a story
And I will hear you
Always near you
By the boab tree

By The Boab Tree is a song from the end credits of the movie Australia with Nicole Kidman & Hugh Jackman from 2008. The movie is directed by Baz Luhrmann. The song is chanted by Angela Little also known as Ophelia of the Spirits.

 

Your comments are appreciated:

Welcome, and thank-you  very much for stopping by.

This is such a beautiful song.   Please take a few minutes an drop me a line and tell me what you think.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanne
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 23:40:05

    love this
    Thanks for your visit and kind words♥

    Like

    Reply

  2. Relyn
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 01:03:04

    Hello, Grace. Thank you for your very kind comment on my blog. Of course I don’t mind the link. I consider it an honor.

    Oh, don’t you just love Baz? My very favorite director. Love the man’s vision and tilted view. It’s so nice to meet you.

    Like

    Reply

  3. shelagh
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 10:59:48

    Hiya, Thanks for the comment on that crazy hair video. I don’t remember the name of the song but it was composed by Kevin Macleod of incompetech.com

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jada
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 20:06:40

    i love this song. I remember when i was young i sung this at my choir concert. I had the solo part and we sang it a little different. I do enjoy listening when i get the chance. I have a myriad of things to do. Love this song and hope to hear more about it.

    Like

    Reply

  5. luvsclassics
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 21:02:28

    Addendum (update):
    Hello visitors.!!! It’s nice to see that even after two years since the movie, “Australia ” that people are still Google- Searching, the song, ‘By the Baob tree”. This song is such a pretty song.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Gillie
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 01:52:57

    Well now it is 2012, and I just watched the film for the first time and just love you voice and that song. beautiful

    Like

    Reply

  7. fachri
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 17:51:52

    i like movie and song…

    Like

    Reply

  8. Tina
    Aug 07, 2016 @ 01:29:31

    This song reminds me of a beautiful piece of music that they played on a late night phone chat line in Birmingham when I was a child, when people would call in to talk to a Reverend about their problems. Does anybody know what that music would be?

    Like

    Reply

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

