Italian comedian – Toto-Antonio De Curtis


This past Sunday, we were fortunate to view “Toto “,  the Italian comedian in the showing of  an Italian movie called,   “The Emperor.”   I found him to be very entertaining.  His facial expressions had me in stitches. 

 When I got home,  I started  my search for a video to share from you-tube with my readers.    

Antonio De Curtis began his career in Vaudeville using the name Toto.

Toto was such a consummate actor that he was able to get laughs as himself with his own personality even when ostensibly in character.

Dear Friends:

I have seen many visitors to this site to view Toto.

 Please write a commment.  Click on comments and tell me wwhat you think of the actor and poet, Toto.

Please sign my guestbook.    My other website is :   http://pencilsandbooks.wordpress.com

 Here is a you tube video at the Trevi Fountain in Rome where he pretends own the Trevi Fountain:

Antonio De Curtis born in Naples, Italy.  Toto started his career in Naples, in small theaters in which he learned the art of the ” guitti”,  Neopolitan scriptless comedians, heirs to  the tradition of the Comedia Dell Arte.

In 1922, he moved to Rome,  performing in the genre of avanspettala,  a  ballet and comedy, Vaudevillian, before the main act of the night.  In the 1930’s ,  he traveled across Italy with his own  company.

In 1937,  he appeared in his first movie, Fermo  Con Le Manni, and then starred in over 100 films.

Toto was famous in Italy and many of his movies included his name in the title.

The movie that recieved most acclaim outside of Italy was ” The Hawks and the Sparrows” (1966).

Some of his famous movies are: 

 Fifa e Arena, Toto Le Moco,  Toto al Giro d ‘ Italia, Toto e le Donne, Toto Tarzan,Toto a colori,  the first Italian color movie in 1952, Ferraniacolor,  Poverty and Nobility,  Siamo Uomini o  Caporoli ?, I soliti Ignati ,  the episode of” Che cosa sono le nuvole” , from Capriccio All’Italiana,  released after his death in 1968.

I would love to see  some of these movies.  The movies were all made in Italy.  The  DVD movies in Italy are  made in a different zone, then the USA.   To watch, must use a separate  DVD player soley for Italian movies,  and change the code on the remote the zone for Italy.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Oct 11, 2009 @ 12:30:44

    Hi! My husband and I are big Toto fans and I came upon your blog. I became a fan through my husband, who is Neopolitan (I am Calabrese, but grew up with a Neopolitan woman who lived upstairs, therefore I know the dialect well!). He currently owns the entire Toto collection and without fail, watches a Toto move every night! We are from Tuckahoe, New York, home of the Westchester Italian Cultural Center, and they recently had a Homage to Toto – unfortunately, it was cancelled for lack of interest. We were very upset! In the meantime, we watch the DVD’s and keep laughing and laughing. I agree that you must know the Neopolitan dialect to fully appreciate his humor, though his facial expressions do not need translation! Though we enjoy all of his work, our personal favorite is “Signore Si Nasce”.

    Like

    Reply

    • luvsclassics
      Oct 11, 2009 @ 19:20:50

      October 11, 2009
      Hello, Maria
      Thank-you very much for the comment. I’d like to know where you obtained the DVD’s of Toto. The Westchester Italian Cultural center looks like there’s a variety of events to do including wine tastings, special exhibits on Italian culture and art, visiting chefs from Italy which all sound intriquing.
      Here in Princeton, N.J., Dorothea’s House is resuming their twice monthly lectures, events on Sundays.
      Today will feature Sicilian actors from Piccolo Teatro de Catania. It’s a thespian version of futuristic recipes called ” A Futuristic Culinary Experience”. The actors are Nicola Alberto Orofina, Anna Passanin, Gianni Salvo, music by Pietro Cavalieri, directed by Gianni Salvo. Looking forward to attending this show at 5:00pm followed by a sharing of snacks.

      Like

      Reply

    • Maria Angeli
      Jan 19, 2014 @ 03:36:39

      Dear Maria,
      almost thirty years ago, I watched on greek TV a film with Toto that I still remember and laugh. He was sleeping on a bed with wheels and somehow his bed got out of the house. He woke up to find himself on his bed speeding in a central square … really hilarious … I cannot remember the title of the movie, if the scene I described rings a bell, please please please let me know. I would certainly love to watch it again. Thanks!

      Like

      Reply

      • Anthony Magri
        Jul 20, 2014 @ 20:33:16

        I remember seeing that movie in Italy way back in the 1950’s when I was a child. Unfortunately I do not know the title. My father was a Toto fan. Maybe Rick Valenti would know.

        Like

  2. Rick Valenti
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 20:43:23

    To all lover`s of toto`s work. All his films can be purchased at ibs.it. They are pal format,but I got a pioneer universal dvd player for $150 on-line. google zone free players. Also check out jaman & u-tube it

    Like

    Reply

  3. Ed Iannuccilli
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 20:22:45

    Remarkable comedian and songwriter. Thank you for sharing this.
    Dr. Ed

    Like

    Reply

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

