Casserole-Mother’s Tomato Rice Meat Pie


Mother’s Tomato Rice Meat Pie

1 lb. groud beef ( I use gr. turkey for leaner version)

1/4 cup green pepper, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

1/2 cup dry bread crumbs

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups tomato sauce

1 1/3 cups minute rice

1 cup water

1 cup cheddar cheese grated

1.  Combine beef, pepper, onion, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, and 1/2 cup tomato sauce. 

Mix well.  Pat into bottom and sides of a greased 9 inch square pan.

2.  Combine remaining tomato sauce, rice, water, and 1/2 cup cheese.  Spoon mixture into meat shell.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees. for 25  minutes. Top with remaining cheese. 

Bake ,uncovered 10-15 minutes longer.

P.S.  I used an 8 x 8 glass square dish and I lined it with foil.

Makes 4-6 large servings, not 12.

Addendum:   In 2009, I was new to blogging and not aware of the rules to writing; for months I was hesitant until I learned that there was editing. 

Source:   From Amish and Mennonite Kitchens

                  Copyright 1984

This cookbook was borrowed from my mother’s bookshelf -she enjoyed preparing many of these recipes.

I served it with fresh spinach that was sauteed on an iron pan with olive oil and garlic.  Added fresh squeezed limon juice to serve.

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

