Laughter and life


Laughter…..

Each and every day I bring laughter to my workplace…it was noted at a recent meeting at work, that everyone should look at  Moi-or mwaa (this writer) and smile more; ” she even laughs at herself.”

“You grow up the day you have your first real laugh at yourself”

Quote by: Ethel Barrymore   (1879-1959) Academy Award Winning Actress.

I must add another quote from someone I saw as a youngster on stage, rather the T.V. performing on his Variety show on Saturday evenings.    I couldn’t wait for his comedic sketches….both of my parents enjoyed him as well….Red Skelton.

His Quote:

“I live by this credo:  Have a little laugh at life and look around for happiness instead of sadness.  Laughter has always brought me out of unhappy situations.  Even in your darkest moment, you can usually  find something to laugh about if you try hard enough. ”  –Red Skelton (1913-1997) American comedian and top radio and television star.

Red Skelton would close his TV show with this:
“If someday you’re not feeling well, and you should
remember some silly little thing I’ve said or done,
and if it brings a smile to your face or a chuckle
to your heart, then my purpose has been fulfilled.”

The time has come to say goodnight,
My how time does fly.
We’ve had a laugh, perhaps a tear,
And now we hear good-bye.
I really hate to say goodnight,
For times like these are few.
I wish you love and happiness,
In everything you do.
The time has come to say goodnight,
I hope I’ve made a friend…
And so we’ll say, “May God bless you,
Until we meet again.”

On Laughter……

for me I grew up with laughter. We watched many a rerun of “I Love Lucy” t.v. shows, the Red Skelton show, the Carol Burnett show with Harvey Corman, Love American Style, was so funny. It was a part of my experience growing up.

So this happened, rather, is what was said during an outing in Philadelphia last week ….
For the life of me, I still can’t figure out why my husband’s niece said ” no laughing allowed at the restaurant ” , written on the list pictured  is – “don’t laugh in public” recently on New Year’s day.  She even wrote it on a paper napkin.  Perhaps my outlook on the world is different. If I’m not smiling that means I’m not feeling well.
Comments appreciated.

As for me,  I look for the humor.
And another thing I said that was funny to me:
After finishing rolling some curlers in my hair, I said There, I’m all set”. I meant ready to go to sleep, but then I laughed at the double meaning. “All Set”.

Say cheese! (New Year's day)

Say cheese! (New Year's day)

The list...things to do with a mummer's beaded necklace

The list...things to do with a mummer's beaded necklace

It takes 5 minutes to make a beaded necklace into a coaster!

It takes 5 minutes to make a beaded necklace into a coaster!

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

