cows of PA


"Hey, are you taking a picture?"

I wonder who loves cows enough  to photograph them?   Like  Me!

Mi domandochi ama le mucche abbastanza a photograh lor come faccio.  (in Italian)

On a recent trip to Hershey, PA , we passed pastures with Holstein cows a few miles away.  I said to my husband,” look there’s the cows”, “oh , please stop at the next farm, I want to take a picture of the cows” almost pouting.  Once stopped, I could have gotten closer, but it  was me standing there and a seemingly thin wire fence.  How fast do they “moove” anyway.? LOL.

I was happy as could be, now that I had my cows on film.

There also was a herd of brown cows, beef cattle along the edge of the road behind a fence.  I wondered what kept them from crossing the fence onto the road.

Many years ago,  we went on rides in the country with my grandparents.  If the cows were sitting, my grandmother P. would say that it was going to rain; an old wives tale perhaps.   While riding in the car, my mother would say, “look out the window at the cows.”  We would stop our conversation or games and turn our heads to look.

Now, I love to  look at the cows. Relaxing , maybe seeing them standing quietly evokes  a slower pace.   Whenever I come to the place where I know there is a dairy farm a few miles from my house, I cast a glance in the direction of the dairy farm’s grounds.   Are they close to the road?  Are they far in the distance,  near their barn and large-size funny imitation cow for decoration.  Today, as I drove on South Middlebush Road, the cows were in a pasture to the  left side of the road.  Most of them were close to the fence and they were sitting down.  As I got closer to my destination, you guessed it, it was raining (drizzling). Just like my grandmother P. used to say.

In Italian:

Su un viaggio recente a Hershey, Pa, abbiamo passato i pascoli con le mucche dell’ Holstein.

“IL colorato beige della mucca, seite che esaminate il me.”

November 7, 2008

I’ve added one more photo.  This is of a farm in New Jersey.  It’s along Rt. 518.  I don’t know the name of the farm.  One day last fall, the cows were fairly close to the road and I had my camera with me.  Yahoo.  I parked the car and walked a little closer.  This beige cow photographed seemed to look up from the grass he/she was munching and say, ” this is the first time somebody stopped to take our picture” or ” are you looking at me”  A photogenic cow.  The others are contentedly grazing.   There are more photos; perhaps my friend will create  a painting for me.

Any comments out there. Where are you from?

Scrivere,  Dove vive?

Comments:

Hello and thanks for stopping by.  We’d love to hear from you.  Farm animals are fun to look at !

Please share with me your comments on these photos of the Holstein cows. I’d love to hear what you think!

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

