Carrot Soup


Carrot Soup

This afternoon, I was looking for a carrot soup recipe in  my classic cookbooks,  ( basic  - “Betty Crocker”, and Good Housekeeping Cookbook), and did not have success.  I’ve actually collected many more books.   I suspected, I ‘d have to check my Vegetarian type cookbooks.   Ahh , success.

From the Moosewood Cookbook from my mother’s collection is the following recipe.

Carrot Soup

45 minutes to prepare                                                      4-5 servings

2 pound carrots, peeled and scrubbed, and chopped

4 cups stock or water

1 1/2 tsp salt

optional : 1 medium potato, chopped ( for heartier soup)

Bring to a boil.  Cover and Simmer 12-15 minutes.  Let cool to room temperature.

Next, Saute  in 3-4 TBSP butter with a little salt, 1 cup chopped onion, 1-2 small cloves crushed garlic, 1/3 cup chopped cashews or almonds until onions are clear.

Puree everything together in a blender until smooth.   Return the puree to a kettle or double-boiler and whisk in one of the following:

You choose:

1 cup milk

1 cup yogurt or buttermilk plus a little honey

1/2 pint heavy cream

or  3/4 cup sour cream

Now heat this very slowly, ( this means on low flame and keep a careful eye on it, so as not to scorch your pan!)

Here are seasoning combinations to choose from:

2 pinches of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp dried mint, dash of cinnamon

 

or 1/2 to 1 tsp thyme, marjoram, basil,

or 1 tsp fresh grated ginger root, sautéed in butter plus a dash of Sherry, (add just before serving.)

Garnish with grated apple or toasted nuts or sour cream.

For my afternoons’ soup creation, I chose the nutmeg , and cinnamon combination.   I tasted a couple small spoonfuls and it is delicious.   I put the rest in the fridge for later or tomorrow’s supper.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Diann @ The Thrifty Groove
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 11:53:16

    Oh this sounds yummy! thank you for sharing it with us. And I did find your comment in my spam filter. Thank you for letting me know about it! I hope you are having a wonderful day! Hugs, Diann :)

    Reply

Please comment, I love to hear from you!! What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

